Although much of the hype has finally died down for The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, there’s no denying the impact it had when the game released earlier this year. Already having been awarded a huge amount of praise and positive reviews, it’s hardly surprising to see the latest title in the Zelda franchise taking the top prize at this year’s Tokyo Game Show.

As the yearly gaming event neared its conclusion, the 2017 Japan Game Awards were announced, acknowledging the best releases of the past year. Not only did Breath of the Wild take home the Grand Award, but it also received an Award for Excellence, replicating the success of last year’s winner: Splatoon.

the legend of zelda breath of the wild news channel

It seems that Zelda isn’t the only long-running series to be still living up to expectations, however, as Pokemon Sun and Moon managed to achieve three awards of its own. The newest iterations in the Pokemon franchise’s main series of games went home with an Award for Excellence, the Best Sales Award, and finally the Global Award for a Japanese Product.

The full list of awards can be found below:

  • Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – Grand Award, Award for Excellence
  • Resident Evil 7: Biohazard- Award for Excellence
  • Final Fantasy XV – Award for Excellence
  • Horizon: Zero Dawn – Award for Excellence
  • Monster Hunter XX: Double Cross – Award for Excellence
  • NieR: Automata – Award for Excellence
  • Nioh – Award for Excellence
  • Overwatch – Award for Excellence
  • Persona 5 – Award for Excellence
  • Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon – Award for Excellence, Best Sales Award, Global Award Japanese Product
  • The Last Guardian – Award for Excellence
  • PlayStation VR – Special Award
  • FIFA 17 – Global Award Foreign Product

A few notable mentions were then announced in the Future Division, signifying which upcoming titles were likely to see a place at the next Tokyo Game Shows. These games included Detroit: Become Human, Fire Emblem Warriors, Monster Hunter World, and Dragon Ball FighterZ. PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds was the only currently-playable title to be placed in this division.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is out now for Nintendo Switch and Wii U.