‘World of Warcraft’ Timewalking Ups the Danger and Loot of Old Dungeons

By | 2 years ago 

More than ten years after the launch of World of Warcraft, Blizzard is still finding ways to keep the MMO community engaged and active. Subscription totals have remained strong since the release of the Warlords of Draenor expansion and new content and features are still being added with each major patch.

While Blizzard has recently been attempting to fix some problems with the WoW economy, the next patch is more about PvE gameplay. Patch 6.2 is currently being workshopped on the public test realms, with a focus on the update’s brand-new Timewalking feature.

The Timewalking tool will scale players down to match the difficulty of old dungeons and up the loot level to match the player’s progress in the game. The dungeons will be randomly selected, so players won’t know what they are getting in for when they enter the Timewalk queue. The patch 6.2 preview notes detail the upcoming feature…

“In Patch 6.2, we’re introducing seven different weekend events that will run from noon Friday through noon Monday every week. Two of those events will be Timewalking weekends, in which you’ll be able to queue up for a randomly selected old-school dungeon with a new sort of “heroic” difficulty: When you Timewalk these dungeons, you’ll find that your character’s power and gear has been scaled down to a fraction of what they normally are. For the first time in years, some dungeons you outgrew long ago will once more put your skills to the test.”

World of Warcraft 10th Anniversary

The loot in each dungeon will scale up to match each player’s current item level, which is definitely an added incentive to participate in the nostalgic events. The events will be limited in time and only available on special holiday weekends, so fans should keep an eye on the events calendar to make sure they don’t miss their chance. The new feature is a great bonus for high level characters and hopefully Blizzard announces similar perks at this year’s BlizzCon.

Timewalking will be available to characters who are level 71 and higher for Burning Crusade content, and level 81 and up for Wrath of the Lich King dungeons. Blizzard hasn’t confirmed a full list of eligible dungeons yet, but we do know that these are the ones being piloted on the test realms…

  • The Arcatraz
  • Black Morass
  • Mana-Tombs
  • The Shattered Halls
  • The Slave Pens
  • Ahn’kahet: The Old Kingdom
  • Gundrak
  • Halls of Lightning
  • The Nexus
  • Utgarde Pinnacle

Old school WoW grinders, who are now level 100, have definitely spent plenty of hours in all of these dungeons and returning to them should be a ton of fun. We look forward to finding out if the boss fights will be altered at all to require new strategies or if our characters will just be powered down to their level. Either way, the dungeons should make for a rewarding challenge that offers some serious loot upgrades.

Do you plan to revisit the dungeons with the help of Timewalking? What old expansion dungeon would you be most excited to fight through again? Let us know in the comments.

World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor is now available for PC and Mac.

Source: Blizzard