Ever since its announcement, amongst all the excitement for its eventual release, there have also been many who have denounced Titanfall as simply being Call of Duty with mechs. Despite the fact that the recent beta has proven it to be much more than a simple COD clone, the assumptions will likely persist. As per the latest beta-related discovery, more fuel may have just been added that the fire.

One of the features that gamers have come to associate with the progression of the Call of Duty multiplayer is the ability to prestige upon reaching the max level and start all over again with an emblem that signifies their bragging rights. According to a user on NeoGAF, a string of text was found in the beta’s code that seems to lend credence to the inclusion of a prestige mode in Titanfall. If true, it appears Titanfall’s version of Prestige will be called “Generations” and restarting the cycle referred to as “regenerating.”

The NeoGAF post in question states that, considering the final unlockable (check out the rumored list) will reportedly be obtained at level 49, it is a safe assumption that level 50 will be the level cap. Upon looking at some of the data-mined menu text in the beta, it looks as though players will then have the option to “regenerate.” The data-mined text can be found below.

“Take me to generation [next level].

Warning! You will lose all that you have unlocked and be reset to level 1. All challenges will be reset.

Years of battle have taken their toll. We can regenerate you… at a cost.
Your body can be restored. But your memory and your experience…all will be lost.
When you awaken you will respawn a [next level] generation Pilot.
You will be better, sharper, acquiring experience even faster than before.

Are you sure?
I’m sure

Are you really sure?
Yes positive!

Would you like to go to the next gen?
Take me to next gen!

Generation numerics:

If this information is legitimate and it is assumed that the first generation is what a player starts at, then it looks as though players will be able to prestige nine times before reaching the game’s hard cap. While this will no doubt lead to further comparisons between Titanfall and Call of Duty, the inclusion of a prestige mode of sorts has almost become a necessity for any game seeking longevity. Unfortunately, it’s unclear how close to the traditional Prestige system this new Generations option might be – i.e. is it a full wipe of progress or do some elements carry over?

Included in another NeoGAF post, RazorUK, the user in question also posted a series of images that supposedly signify the different levels of prestige. They number all the way up to ten, but do not include the number one. This lends further credence to both the data-mined string of text and the assumption that the 1st Generation will correspond to a fresh player who has yet to prestige.

Titanfall Prestige Generations Icons

With the statement that Respawn Entertainment is trying to make Titanfall an “inclusive” experience, this news of a prestige mode doesn’t seem too far off of the truth. It still remains to be seen whether these claims have any legitimacy, but for anyone who has delved into the world of multiplayer shooters in the past few years there are certain expectations that have been set in place.

Since the game is nearing its highly-anticipated release, it won’t be long before gamers know the truth. Until then though, it never hurts to brush up on your skills with tips and tricks that could give you the edge on the competition as well as check out our answers to the players’ questions.

Do you think Titanfall will in fact implement a prestige mode? Do you ever bother with prestige or would you rather retain your unlocked skills?


Titanfall is prepared to drop March 11, 2014 for the PC, Xbox 360, and Xbox One.

Follow Ryan on Twitter @ThatRyanB.

Source: NeoGAF, 2