Rock Band 3 for Nintendo DS: New Trailer and Set List

Harmonix MTV Games Rock Band 3 Nintendo DS

The fine folks over at Harmonix and MTV Games dropped a new trailer for Rock Band 3 for the Nintendo DS. The trailer shows gameplay footage, giving you a taste of what will be displayed on the top and bottom screens, and also giving you a pretty good idea of how the game will play on Nintendo's portable machine of world domination.

Do you remember Rock Band Unplugged for the PSP? Well, it looks like Rock Band 3 on the DS is going to play a lot like that. Or if you passed on Rock Band Unplugged, do you remember Amplitude from the PS2? Because, you see, Rock Band Unplugged played a lot like Amplitude, and since Rock Band 3 appears to play a lot like Unplugged, you could say Rock Band 3 on the DS also plays a lot like Amplitude. We all remember transitive relations from math right, if A = B and B = C, then A = C too. OK, OK, enough math flashbacks, watch the trailer, you will see what I mean.


Now if that trailer has you ready to rock, but you are curious what other songs you get to rock along to besides Smash Mouth's Walkin' on the Sun, well this really must be your lucky day and you should consider playing the lottery (only if you are old enough to play, of course) because they also released the 25-song set list for the game:


·         Ida Maria, “Oh My God”

·         Metric, “Combat Baby”

·         Paramore, “Misery Business”

·         Phoenix, “Lasso”

·         Rilo Kiley, “Portions for Foxes”

·         Tokio Hotel, “Humanoid”

·         The Vines, “Get Free”

·         The White Stripes, “The Hardest Button to Button”


·         Faith No More, “Midlife Crisis”

·         Jane’s Addiction, “Been Caught Stealing”

·         Smash Mouth, “Walkin’ On The Sun”


·         The Cure, “Just Like Heaven”

·         INXS, “Need You Tonight”

·         Joan Jett, “I Love Rock N’ Roll”

·         Night Ranger, “Sister Christian”

·         Ozzy Osbourne, “Crazy Train”

·         Roxette, “The Look”

·         Whitesnake, “Here I Go Again”


·         The B-52’s, “Rock Lobster”

·         Doobie Brothers, “China Grove”

·         Foreigner, “Cold As Ice”

·         Queen, “Bohemian Rhapsody”

·         Yes, “Roundabout”


·         The Doors, “Break on Through (To the Other Side)”

·         The Jimi Hendrix Experience, “Crosstown Traffic”

I have to admit, I think there are some pretty good tracks in there. Sure there might only be 25, but anytime one of those is some Jimi, well you cannot complain too much, am I right?!?

The game will also feature eight different modes and, for the first time in a Harmonix handheld game, competitive multiplayer. So again, while there might only be 25 songs, at least it looks like they are trying to find ways to add replay value to the game.

What do you Ranters think about Rock Band 3 for the DS? Do you like the song choices? I think picking songs for these games must be an art all its own. Did you like the trailer? I thought it was pretty good, it at least let you know what the game was going to be about, but let's face it, it was no Guitar Hero: On Tour commercial was it. I could watch that commercial so many times and laugh every...single...time. Classic. You know, this one:


Rock Band 3 lights up the Nintendo DS, Xbox 360, PS3, and Nintendo Wii on October 26.

Hideo Kojima Comments on Death Stranding Negative Reviews

More in Gaming News