Pokemon GO had a rough couple of months towards the end of 2016 when users were dropping quickly due to a lack of new content and broken features. The mobile phenomenon seems to have finally come back around and is now delivering frequent events that provide just the right kind of motivation to get players logging in and catching adorable Pokemon. The latest Pokemon GO event is all about Rock-type creatures and kicks off today.

The Rock-type event will give players an increased chance to run into big names like Omanyte, Kabuto, Aerodactyl, Sudowoodo, and Onix – as well as their evolutions. In addition to the chance to catch more Rock-types, during the event players can also benefit from an increased number of Pokestops, a cosmetic adventurer’s hat, and a decrease in distance needed for buddies to collect candy. The event runs from May 18 – May 25.

Here are the details about when the event starts based on location:

North America West Coast: 1pm Pacific
North America East Coast: 4pm Eastern
UK: 9pm BST
Europe: 10pm CEST

pokemon golem

Although the events seem to be doing a good job of getting lapsed players to return to the mobile game, Niantic still needs to find a way to continue bringing new users onboard and getting players to log on even when there isn’t an event live. The addition of new generations of Pokemon could give a boost in that direction, but the game may need to start crossing over with the mainline Pokemon franchise games to really get more players engaged. Not spawning Aloha versions of the starts after Sun and Moon’s release seems like a big missed opportunity. Perhaps we’ll see a more significant crossover if the rumored Pokemon Stars for Switch eventually arrives.

Will you be logging in to check out the Rock-type event? How often are you playing the game at this point? Let us know in the comments.

Pokemon GO is available now for iOS and Android mobile devices.

SCROLL FOR NEXT ARTICLE