The event has ended! Read full details on the Nintendo Switch Price and Nintendo Switch Release Date.

Ever since Nintendo confirmed the official title of its console originally codenamed NX last October by revealing the Switch‘s existence via the system’s first-ever piece of recorded footage, fans of the Big N have been clamoring for any and all details they can get their hands on regarding the hardware. Now, thankfully, the time has almost arrived in which Nintendo will finally provide an exact release date and price for the console by hosting a dedicated live stream tonight at 11:00 PM ET / 10:00 PM CT / 8:00 PM PT.

As evidenced in the YouTube embed below from Nintendo’s channel on the video-sharing website, fans can watch the presentation live from the beginning as soon as the company is prepared to begin the festivities for the Switch. After the event is over, fans can then tune back into Nintendo’s channel the following morning to watch the company’s Treehouse Live event focusing on upcoming games, which is scheduled to begin on January 13 at 9:30 AM ET / 8:30 AM CT / 6:30 AM PT.

With Nintendo having already confirmed that the Switch has a March 2017 launch window, the company still has loads to share when it comes to specifics about the console, its accessories, and perhaps most importantly, which games fans will be able to enjoy on the system’s first day of availability. Of course, the dearth of official knowledge regarding the Switch and its properties hasn’t stopped many from speculating what Nintendo has planned for the system.

About a couple of months ago, for instance, unconfirmed sources presented the information that a new Super Mario game will be a launch title on the Switch to take the place of the highly anticipated The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. However, just recently, box art leaked from the GAME retail store suggests that Breath of the Wild will actually launch in March 2017 after all. As of writing, Nintendo has yet to provide solid details about the Switch’s launch lineup.

nintendo-switch-reveal-event-live-joycons

Beyond the potential games coming out for the Nintendo Switch on day one, the Internet has been rife with conjecture about what the console can do under the hood, so to speak. For example, one report revealed that the Switch is less powerful than a three-year-old launch version of PS4 due to outdated processor architecture being used in the Big N’s soon-to-be-released console. While that may disappoint some fans, there have also been industry veterans such as Nvidia CEO Jen-Hsun Huang expressing excitement, saying that the Switch will blow people away.

Taking all of this into account, there’s no telling what Nintendo has in store for its fans since the company hasn’t corroborated on a single piece of hearsay that has leaked thus far. With this being the case, fans will simply have to wait and find out about the Switch’s future after tonight’s live stream presentation. Should gamers in NYC be enticed by what Nintendo has to offer, console pre-orders will go live at its New York based store on January 13 at 9:00 AM, but there’s no word on whether or not online retailers will follow suit.

Tonight’s Nintendo Switch live presentation begins at 11:00 PM ET / 10:00 PM CT / 8:00 PM PT.

tags: Nintendo, Switch

SCROLL FOR NEXT ARTICLE