Minecraft: Story Mode Episode 2 Already Released

Minecraft Story Mode 2

Just 2 weeks after the launch of the first episode,Telltale Games has released the second part to its Minecraft: Story Mode series, "Assembly Required".

Fans of the latest Telltale Games series, Minecraft: Story Mode, should be excited to hear that the second part of the adventure game's story is available for download now, just two weeks after the first episode's initial release. The trailer for the new episode, "Assembly Required" can be seen below.

Considering that Telltale's episodic games usually release new chapters over the course of several months, it is extremely surprising to see Episode 2 debut so soon. Yesterday also marked the release of Minecraft: Story Mode's season pass (or this Friday the 30th in Europe), which comes in the form of a physical disk release and contains Episode 1 of the series, with access to the remaining 4 episodes when they become available for download.

A blog post on the Telltale Games website gives us an insight into the latest episode of the Minecraft adventure:

"In the second chapter of our story, time is running out for our intrepid heroes. The Wither Storm looms ever closer, consuming everything in its wake. Depending on their decisions, Jesse and friends are off to explore either kingdoms of chaos or wondrous Redstone marvels in search of Magnus or Ellegaard, the remaining known members of The Order of the Stone. Can these legendary figures help our heroes stop the impending threat?"

As with many Telltale adventures, the story is heavily dependent on the player's decisions and this episode will differ greatly based on choices made in Episode 1, "The Order of the Stone". The developers claim that this episode is one of their most divergent episodes yet, with players heading off to seek help from Magnus the Griefer or Ellegaard the Redstone Engineer in two totally different locations.


Minecraft: Story Mode is breaking new ground for the sandbox game series in a lot of ways. Not only will this be the first Minecraft game not not be developed by Mojang, it will also be the first to be released on a Nintendo platform, as the game is set to come to Wii U sometime in the near future. The game is also the first Telltale release that allows the player to choose their character's gender and race, adding to the uniqueness of each story's playthrough.

Minecraft's original sandbox game is still being updated to this day, with the latest snapshot revealing the addition of flying capes among other features. Telltale's series was designed to act as a long-awaited story mode to go alongside the bestselling game.

Minecraft: Story Mode Episode 2, "Assembly Required" is now available to download for all those who own the base game. The physical copy of the season pass is available now in the US and will be coming to Europe on the 30th of October.

mortal kombat shang tsung weird facts
Mortal Kombat 11 Trolls Fans Over Mileena DLC Again

More in Gaming News