Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock Debuting 11 New Bands/Artists

11 New Rock Soldiers to Debut in Guitar Hero Warriors of Rock

It’s about to get a little easier to keep on rockin’ in the free world. Continuing their intentions to be a premier platform for new bands to showcase their music, Activision has announced 11 bands and artists that will be included in the upcoming Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock that have never been featured in the franchise before.

  • Anberlin — “The Feel Good Drag”
  • Arch Enemy — “Nemesis”
  • The Dillinger Escape Plan — “Setting Fire To Sleeping Giants”
  • John 5 — “Black Widow Of La Porte”
  • Neil Young — “Rockin' In The Free World”
  • Orianthi — “Suffocated”
  • Queensrÿche — “Jet City Woman”
  • Red Rider — “Lunatic Fringe”
  • RX Bandits — “It's Only Another Parsec...”
  • Snot — “Deadfall”
  • Tesla — “Modern Day Cowboy”

Some of these artists are more established (Neil Young, Queensryche, Tesla), and others are obviously newer to the scene. Either way, Anberlin lead guitarist Joey Milligan expressed what many of the new bands are feeling:

“It’s seriously a huge honor to be included in Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock. It is surreal to have our name next to so many great bands and amazing songs!  I can’t wait to play this!”

As a musician, it is encouraging to see that Activision is striving to include some lessor known groups and songs in their new title. Between this and their competitor’s Rock Band Network, there are amazing opportunities for unknown or lessor known acts to break out into a wider audience. Platforms like this really get people to listen to and interact with music they would not otherwise be experiencing. I really hope this trend continues for as long as rhythm games are around.

We have previously announced the 93 song set list (yes, that’s not a typo) for this new game. On initial glance it looks appealing, and I’m excited to here the new bands. I only ask that they be good and that they rock. Although the setlist appears ready to go, there is only one caveat: Activision, you lose some kudos for including Nickelback. Otherwise, keep up the good work.

So, Ranters, would do you think of the new bands being included in the set list for Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock? Are they rock gods, or rock duds?

Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock says “hello” to Cleveland, and everywhere else, September 28th, 2010, on the Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii.

call of duty modern warfare classic maps
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Fans Spot Classic MW2 Maps

More in Gaming News