24 New Songs Revealed For ‘Guitar Hero Live’

By | 1 year ago 

When Guitar Hero first released for the PlayStation 2 back in 2005, it was a humble little game with a wacky plastic guitar. In a world of first person shooters and platforming games, Guitar Hero was certainly unique, and it was this uniqueness that helped it stand out from the rabble and launch into super stardom. Then, much like the rock stars it based itself on, Guitar Hero suffered from a serious case of “too much, too soon” and burned out, disappearing from the lime light.

But after several years of silence, Activision is trotting Guitar Hero out for its reunion tour, and unlike the Rolling Stones, it looks like the years have been kind to this franchise. The reboot of the franchise, entitled Guitar Hero Live, is shooting to bring the rock star experience home. Gone are the days of cartoonish front men and shredding as demons and Japanese schoolgirls; instead, the new Guitar Hero puts players on a photorealistic stage, tasking them with playing all manner of songs for thousands of screaming fans.

But for fans expecting to wail through “Through The Fire And The Flames” just like old times, think again, because Guitar Hero Live is looking to shed its classic rock and punk roots. While Guitar Hero Live promises to have plenty of classic songs to rock out to, former DJ Hero developer FreeStyleGames is working to expand the franchise’s horizons.


Rolling Stone has revealed 24 songs for the upcoming game, and some selections, such as dubstep poster boy Skrillex’s club banger “Bangarang” may seem like odd choices, Guitar Hero Live creative director Jamie Jackson stated:

“Guitar music is broader than it’s ever been- so we’re reflecting that in the range of music on offer.”

But fret not, rockers. Guitar Hero Live has plenty of ripping songs to plow through, all while balancing the heavy stuff with lighter fare such as The Lumineers. The 24 songs that will be featured in Guitar Hero Live are:

  • The Black Keys- “Gold on the Ceiling”
  • Blitz Kids- “Sometimes”
  • Ed Sheeran- “Sing”
  • Fall Out Boy- “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)”
  • Gary Clark Jr.- “Don’t Owe You a Thang”
  • Green Day- “Nuclear Family”
  • The Killers- “When You Were Young”
  • The Lumineers- “Ho Hey”
  • My Chemical Romance- “Na Na Na”
  • Pierce The Veil- “King for a Day (feat. Kellin Quinn)”
  • The Rolling Stones- “Paint It Black”
  • Skrillex- “Bangarang”
  • The War on Drugs- “Under the Pressure”
  • Black Veil Brides- “In The End”
  • Rage Against The Machine- “Guerrilla Radio”
  • Judas Priest- “Breaking the Law”
  • Pantera- “Cowboys From Hell”
  • Sleigh Bells- “Bitter Rivals”
  • System of a Down- “Chop Suey!”
  • Alter Bridge- “Cry of Achilles”
  • Alt-J- “Left Hand Free”
  • Broken Bells- “Leave It Alone”
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers- “Higher Ground”

This eclectic mix joins the previously announced ten songs for Guitar Hero Live.

With its redesigned guitar controller and focus on expanding it’ musical stylings, Guitar Hero Live could be the entry that manages to save the once wildly popular franchise. But too much deviation from the original formula could kill the loyal following the franchise has managed to build, so it stands to be seen if Guitar Hero Live will live fast or die young.

Guitar Hero Live releases for PS4, Xbox One, Wii U, PS3, Xbox 360, iOS, and Android Devices this Fall

Source: Rolling Stone