Turn 10 Studios and Playground Games are back with the second in a series of behind-the-scenes documentaries depicting the production of Forza Horizon, the open-world offshoot of the acclaimed Forza Motorsport series. On top of that, Forza Horizon‘s extensive licensed soundtrack has been fully revealed, and the first details on its Season Pass have been made public.

Buckle up, Ranters – we’ve got a lot of road to cover.

The first Forza Horizon behind-the-scenes video, released just a few weeks ago, offered a look at the game’s crowded streets and night races. Today’s installment shifts the focus to Horizon’s setting, Colorado, and explores the effort involved in turning real world locations into digital landscapes dense with gameplay possibilities. Along the way, Forza Horizon’s Creative Director, Dan Greenawalt, casually unveils a cool new car acquisition mechanic, Barn Finds. While traveling the go-anywhere highways, byways and back roads of Horizon’s fictionalized Colorado, players will come across the occasional dilapidated, sleepy old barn that hides a rare, precious car in need of restoration – a reward just waiting to be found.

Forza Horizon Behind the Scenes Trailer 2, Season Pass & Soundtrack

By this point, Forza fans should be up to speed on the Horizon Festival, the celebration of cars and music that sits at the heart of Horizon. We know the game will be packing plenty of cars (though exactly how many remains a mystery), and now we can say the same about its music. More than 65 tracks from 60+ artists, custom selected by BBC DJ Rob da Bank, will be available across Horizon’s three in-game radio stations. One of the very, very few issues we had with Forza Motorsport 4 (read our review) was the essential lameness of its in-race music. In Forza Horizon, that’s not going to be a problem.

Check out the full track list, along with descriptions of the game’s radio stations (from Microsoft’s press release), below.

Horizon Bass Arena “A bleeding-edge mix of the latest electronic and dance music, from dubstep to electro to drum & bass. If it’s got bass, you’ll find it here.”

  • Avicii “Levels (Skrillex Mix)”
  • Azari & III “Reckless (With Your Love)”
  • Benny Benassi “Cinema (Skrillex Remix)”
  • Chase & Status “Blind Faith (feat. Liam Bailey)”
  • Chromeo “Hot Mess (feat Elly Jackson) (Duck Sauce Mix)”
  • Digitalism “Encore”
  • DJ Fresh “The Power (feat. Dizzee Rascal)”
  • Feed Me “Silicone Lube”
  • Fenech-Soler “Lies (Alex Metric Remix)”
  • Madeon “Icarus”
  • Modestep “Show Me A Sign”
  • Mord Fustang “Lick The Rainbow”
  • Mr Magnetik “Remanence (Junior Remix)”
  • Nero “Me & You”
  • Nero “Reaching Out (Fred Falke Remix)”
  • New Order “Blue Monday”
  • Porter Robinson “Language”
  • Rusko “Everyday (Netsky VIP Remix)”
  • Rusko “Somebody to Love (Sigma Remix)”
  • Scuba “The Hope”
  • The Hacker “Bass 4”
  • Wolfgang Gartner “Illmerica (Extended Version)”

Forza Horizon 2012 Infiniti IPL G Coupe

Horizon Pulse “An eclectic selection of indie festival favourites, remixed to keep you driving.”

  • Cut Copy “Need You Now”
  • Electric Guest “Awake”
  • Empire of the Sun “Walking on a Dream”
  • Fixers “Iron Deer Dream (Chad Valley Remix)”
  • Foster The People “Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls)”
  • Friendly Fires “Hawaiian Air”
  • Friendly Fires “Hurting”
  • Hooray for Earth “No Love”
  • Hot Chip “Over & Over”
  • Ladyhawke “Black, White and Blue”
  • Maverick Sabre “Let Me Go”
  • Miike Snow “Paddling Out”
  • Noah and the Whale “Life is Life (Yuksek Remix)”
  • Passion Pit “Take A Walk”
  • Phoenix “1901”
  • Sam and the Womp “Bom Bom”
  • Santigold “Disparate Youth”
  • Tesla Boy “Spirit of the Night”
  • The Maccabees “Pelican”
  • The Naked & Famous “Punching in a Dream”
  • Tom Vek “Aroused”
  • Two Door Cinema Club “Something Good Can Work (The Twelves Remix)”
  • Willy Moon “Yeah Yeah”

Forza Horizon 2010 Pagani Zonda R

Horizon Rocks “If it’s got guitars in it, it’s here. Whether these bands are hitting the festival scene for the first time in 2012 or are legends reforming for one last gig, you’ll find a diverse selection of music on this station, all turned up to eleven.”

  • Arctic Monkeys “R U Mine”
  • Black Keys “Lonely Boy”
  • Four Year Strong “The Infected”
  • Howler “Back of your Neck”
  • LCD Soundsystem “Give It Up”
  • Lostprophets “Bring Em Down”
  • Lostprophets “We Bring An Arsenal”
  • Mona “Teenager”
  • Neon Trees “Animal”
  • Pulled Apart By Horses “Wildfire, Smoke & Doom”
  • Silversun Pickups “Lazy Eye”
  • The Duke Spirit “Surrender”
  • The Enemy “Away from Here”
  • The Enemy “Had Enough”
  • The Hives “Hate To Say I Told You”
  • The Stone Roses “She Bangs The Drums”
  • The Subways “Rock n Roll Queen”
  • TOY “Motoring”
  • Wavves “Bug”
  • White Lies “Farewell to the Fairground”
  • You Me At Six “Bite My Tongue (feat. Oli Sykes)”
  • Yuck “Get Away”

Forza Horizon 2012 Eagle Speedster

Turn 10 Studios has a stellar record of supporting the Forza games with reams of DLC, and that’s not about to change for Horizon. Naturally, this means that – as with Forza 4 – players will have the option of buying a Season Pass for Forza Horizon. Six separate car packs, each containing six cars, will be released over the coming months, and on December 18th, a full Expansion Pack will hit the Xbox Marketplace. For $49.99 (4000 Microsoft Point), players get all of it – but what does the expansion pack contain? Frankly, we don’t know, though Forza Horizon Design Director Ralph Fulton did tell Digital Spy that it’s not just another car pack.

“I’m not going to say any more than it’s an expansion pack distinct from the car parks we ship, which we’ll absolutely continue to do because we have a brilliant production pipeline that finds awesome cars and gets them into the Forza format.”

Expect to find out more about the Forza Horizon Expansion Pack in the coming weeks.

It’s a lot to take in, Ranters, but what do you make of the latest Forza Horizon details? Are you looking forward to exploring the nooks and crannies of virtual Colorado? What do you think of the game’s soundtrack? Will you buy a Season Pass? Let us know in the comments below.

Forza Horizon releases October 23, 2012, exclusively for the Xbox 360.

Follow me on Twitter @HakenGaken.

Source: Forza Horizon, Digital Spy