Over the last few days, fans have been speculating that something major is about to go down in Fortnite. The game introduced a new rift in Tomato Town which immediately lead to wild rumors about the fruit-headed mascot. While developer Epic Games has yet to comment on the discussion, newly datamined information may explain what’s going on.

The Twitter account fittingly called Fortnite Battle Royale Leaks has dug into the game’s files and turned up a clue in the form of a string called “eventType=EventFlag.BR_S5_Oddity_Tomato_Event”. The files even include a mention of a specific date and time; August 27, 2018 and 6PM GMT (UK time). This means that the event – that is, if the datamined info is correct – will begin next Monday at 2PM EST/1PM CST/12PM MST/11AM PST.

The datamining and the Tomato Town rift aren’t the only hints that a Tomato Head event is on the way. Players have also spotted a weathered, stone version of the Tomato Head mascot, which no one has been able to make sense of so far. The arrival data of the Tomato Head status was also datamined (by FBRL), which lends some additional credibility to the info in the API.

It’s also important to note that the Tomato Head that was on top of the pizza place has since disappeared, and this may be connected to the event and whatever Tomato-y narrative that goes with it. Some fans have suggested that whenever the Tomato Head figure returns, it won’t be in its previous form. Some are expecting it to have changed drastically.

Epic Games has a history of teasing Fortnite players. In the build-up to season five, Epic put Fortnite props into the real world, complete with clues, in order to hint at the worlds collide theme. Prior to season four, Epic added warning sirens and broadcasts to the game itself in order to tease the superhero theme. These sort of events, though frustrating for some fans who can’t make heads nor tails of them, are fascinating for others who love piecing cryptic clues together and coming up with theories.

August 27 is just one week away, so fans don’t have long to get answers and see if the datamined information was correct. Watch this space for an official confirmation.

Fortnite is available on PC, PS4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and iOS devices. A beta is currently taking place on Android.

Source: Twitter