PlayStation Exclusive 'Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Superheroes' Collector's Edition Details Revealed

PlayStation Disney Infinity Collectors Edition


If the early Destiny beta access and exclusive Arkham Knight missions weren't enough motivation, Disney Infinity 2.0: Marvel Superheroes is about to give console gamers yet another reason to commit to playing on one of Sony's consoles. Sony made it a point to mention early access and exclusive content every few minutes during its presentation at E3 2014 and that trend has continued throughout the rest of the summer's gaming announcements. We already knew that some of Disney Infinity's playable characters would arrive on the PlayStation consoles a bit earlier than on other platforms and now we know that they'll be delivered via a limited collector's edition.

At launch, only PlayStation owners will be able to smash up the New York playset with the Hulk. The character will later be available on other platforms, but no date has been released for that yet. PS3 and PS4 owners will be able to get the Hulk early by picking him up in the Sony-exclusive Marvel Superheroes collector's edition.

Along with Bruce Banner's alter ego, the special edition will also include all of the Avengers available at launch; Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Hawkeye, and Black Widow. Of course, gamers investing in the high-end collector's edition will need a place to display all of those new heroes...

Disney Infinity Collectors Edition Glowing

The Sony collector's edition includes a display large enough to hold up to seven of the playable figures. The stand also features a giant Frost Beast, which is a nice peek at the kind of big baddies that Loki will be unleashing on the city when he takes over. Did we mention the whole thing glows? The concept art above shows "what it might look like glowing" according to VP of Art, Jeff Bunker.

For gamers looking to pick up a PS3 this holiday season, there will also be a Disney Infinity console bundle available. For $249.99, shoppers can snag a 12GB PS3 and the Marvel Superheroes Starter Pack (which includes Thor, Black Widow, and Iron Man). It may seem a little late to be jumping on the PS3 train, but the reduced price is sure to lure in some consumers.

The Collector's Edition may draw some of the hardcore fans to a Sony console, but it doesn't seem like it will be much of a selling point to gamers just looking to jump into the franchise for the first time. With 2.0's many improvements (along with the appeal of the Marvel cast), we expect to see a lot of gamers giving Infinity a try for the first time.

Do you plan to give Disney Infinity 2.0 a chance? If so, what platform will you play on? Let us know in the comments.


Disney Infinity: Marvel Superheroes 2.0 Edition releases this September for PC, PS3, PS4, Wii U, Xbox 360, and Xbox One.

Follow Denny on Twitter @The_DFC.

Source: PlayStation Blog

PS5 Tech Demo Detailed, Called 'Hugely Impressive'

More in Game Trailers