Destiny 2 could be one of the biggest games of the fall. It’s also the first time the game’s developer, Bungie, will be switching in such a big way from one live service game to its sequel. So, in preparation for that server changeover from one game to the other, Bungie has scheduled maintenance that will take Destiny offline in preparation for Destiny 2.

That maintenance will take place on Tuesday, August 8 starting at 8 a.m. Pacific (3 p.m. UTC). It is expected to be complete four hours later at 12 p.m. Pacific (7 p.m. UTC). There is always the chance that maintenance will need to be extended, which has sometimes happened in the past as Bungie has worked on the game’s servers.

During this timeframe, the game will be completely down and players will not be able to sign into Destiny servers. Additionally, some of the features on Bungie.net and the Destiny Companion app will be unavailable. Usually, this kind of maintenance involves any Companion app features like Gear Manager, Vendors, and Inventory.

destiny server offline

Destiny 2 will launch in just over a month, but the game still has its PC beta coming out later this month before that. Development of the game is likely to wrap up soon as games usually go gold around a month before release—although like most games theses days, there is likely to be a Day One patch to look out for.

The more preparation for Destiny 2 that happens the better, considering that pre-order numbers for the game are extremely high, according to Activision, which could mean a massive launch for the sequel. Hopefully, when Destiny 2 does see release it will manage to live up to the lofty expectations set of it and that fans of the original will be happy.

Destiny 2 releases on September 6, 2017 for PS4 and Xbox One, and on October 24 for PC.

Source: Bungie

SCROLL FOR NEXT ARTICLE