New Details for Bungie's 'Destiny': Classes, Setting, Enemies, & More

Bungie Destiny Concept Art - Ocean of Storms

Bungie's latest project, Destiny, takes lessons learned from their work on the Halo series, and adapts them to a grander world and mythology. At the core of Halo was always Master Chief, but in Destiny players get to craft their own experience — or at least choose how they interact with Destiny's game world.

Thus far, a lot of Bungie's explanations of Destiny have been focused on setting the stage, explaining the various elements that go into creating a massive sci-fi world. And today's latest update is no different, as it further details Destiny's playable classes, highlights a few areas of note, and teases some enemies.

The Destiny details come courtesy of a slideshow on Bungie's official site for the game. By flipping through the site, players can learn more about the Guardians - the playable classes in Destiny - and how they approach battle. Warlocks, for example, favor magic, but are not strictly casters; Hunters can best be compared to bounty hunters; and Titans are Destiny's version of the "heavy class, the space marine if you will.

  • Warlock: Warlocks have long studied the Traveler, mastering some of its arcane energies. Its true purpose still remains a great mystery, but discovering truth has always driven you into the unknown. Now, our enemies are the only thing that stands between you and the lost wonders of our Golden Age.
  • Titan: The first Titans built the Wall, and gave their lives to defend it. Now, you stand in the same high place, steadfast and sure, protecting all who shelter in your shadow. You hail from a long line of heroes, forged from strength and sacrifice. Our enemies may be deadly and merciless, but so are you.
  • Hunter: Hunters once prowled the wilderness and wastelands, taking big risks for even bigger rewards. You're no outlaw–at least, not anymore–but making your own luck has always meant bending the rules. Your unique brand of daring and ingenuity is needed now more than ever.

The new slides also feature more explanation about the game's frontier, where players will do most of their exploration and battle. As has been previously explained, players will be able to explore Earth, which has fallen into decay over time, but they will also be able to take their adventures off-planet to The Moon (classified as a forbidden zone), Mars, and Venus.

Bungie Destiny Concept Art - Delta North

Exploring those landscapes wouldn't be as treacherous, of course, without a wealth of interesting enemies to fight. Thus far, Bungie has unveiled two enemy races: the Fallen and the Cabal. While the Cabal are still very much a mystery, the Fallen come in three distinct flavors — the Dreg, the Vandal, and the Captain. Dregs, as the name implies, are the low alien on the totem pole, while the Vandal and Captain are numbers 2 and 1 in command, respectively.

  • The Fallen Dreg: These relentless thieves seem driven by desperation and rage. They are crafty, but they usually give up their cover with their clattering and hissing. Most seem outfitted with some kind of shock dagger and pistol, and as far as we can gather, they seem to only have two arms, while other Fallen have four.
  • The Fallen Vandal: The truths about the Fallen chain-of-command are still making themselves known, but Vandals appear to hold a higher ranking than the Dregs, and deadlier weapons, too. They often have long range capability, but, lucky for us, their weapons take time to charge.
  • The Fallen Captain: Fallen run in packs, led by an individual Captain. There is no denying a Captain's might; they are the fiercest of the Fallen. There is this sense of tattered nobility to them. You can see it in the way they carry themselves. They think they're better than us. They believe that Earth belongs to them.

For a title that has seen little footage released into the wild, Destiny has fast become one of the more complex games of recent memory. To get your fill make sure to check out Destiny's official site, which Bungie will continue to update as they go. Hopefully, we'll get a better understanding of how all these various moving parts go together at E3 next month.

What do you think of Destiny's playable classes? Which will you choose?

Destiny has no release date, but is targeting the PS3, Xbox 360, PS4, and presumably the next Xbox.


Source: Bungie

theros beyond death full arts
Magic: The Gathering Next Set Brings Back Fan-Favorite Card Style

More in Gaming News