Destiny 2 Details Free Content Included in ‘New Light’

destiny 2 new light content detailed

A lot is changing for Destiny 2 this fall, including a new "entry point" (as developer Bungie is describing it) for the game called Destiny 2: New Light. In effect, New Light is a free-to-play version of the game that allows anyone to play a portion of the game's content without paying a dime. But when the announcement was made, it was a little vague on what exactly that content would include.

Now Bungie has revealed more details about what exactly is included in Destiny 2: New Light and, to the developer's credit, it is quite extensive. First off, New Light will include all of Year 1's content including the base game and its campaign, plus the Curse of Osiris and Warmind expansions, and any Year 1 raids. When it comes to Forsaken and Year 2 content (which is when Destiny 2 really turned itself around), New Light players will be able to play the following content for free:

The idea behind New Light is for new players to be able to jump in and quickly play these activities with any of their friends who are current players who do own additional Destiny 2 content. As for what New Light is not going to include for free, players will have to pay to access:

  • The Forsaken campaign
  • Year 2 raids and dungeons
  • Forsaken's/Year 2's exotic quests

Bungie also explained that Destiny 2: New Light will not be a separate download. Come September 17, 2019, all Destiny 2 players will be converted to Destiny 2: New Light. For those who have purchased content for Destiny 2 like Forsaken and the Annual Pass or Shadowkeep, all those purchases will transfer over into the new Destiny 2: New Light version of the game.

For new players first accessing New Light, though, the free version of the game will start them with the original opening mission from Destiny 1, where players awaken in the Cosmodrome on Earth, then move through the wall and find a ship to fly to the Tower. From there it appears that players will find themselves in Destiny 2's new Tower and the game will also quickly get players up to a competent Power level to quickly start playing alongside current players.

Destiny 2 is available now for PC, PS4, and Xbox One. Destiny 2: New Light and the Shadowkeep expansion will release on September 17, 2019 for Google Stadia, PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

Source: Bungie

magic legends classes combat coop
Magic: Legends Details Classes, Combat, and Co-Op

More in Gaming News