Destiny 2: How Crucible Ranking Works


Bungie held the first of three planned livestreams in advance of the newest season for Destiny 2. Yesterday gave players a deeper look at Warmind, the second major expansion set to launch on May 8. In addition to new content, the May 8 update is also adding a new progression system for Crucible players in the form of Valor and Glory. This new PvP ranking system brings a lot of new stuff to the table for longtime players, so content creator Gigz is offering an in-depth breakdown.

After attending the Destiny 2 Creator Summit last week, Gigz got plenty of hands-on time with this new system. The ranking system starts everyone at the Guardian level and sets them on a path to the final level, called Legend. The full Destiny 2 Crucible ranks are:

  • Guardian
  • Brave
  • Heroic
  • Fabled
  • Mythic
  • Legend

For each new rank earned, players receive a reward package which can include items like masterwork cores, engrams, and tokens. Players who reach Legend status can opt to prestige, a multiplayer shooter term indicating the player resets the progression system, for a chance to earn even more rewards. It's worth noting that players will have to hit the Fabled rank in order to unlock each season's unique weapon. For Season 3, the unique weapon is a pulse rifle called Redrix's Claymore.

Starting in Season 3, players can earn Valor rank by participating in the weekly Crucible playlists or the Quickplay mode. This ranking system is a little more relaxed as players earn rank just for completing a match, regardless of a win or loss. For fans of Bungie's previous work, Valor closely resembles the XP system from Halo 3. Players will need 2000 points to reach the max level of Legend.

On the other end of the spectrum is Glory, which is tied to the Competitive playlist. Similar to Overwatch, rank goes up for a win and down with a loss. Winning and loss streaks also have a greater impact on this progression system as well.  This system is highly based on skill and performance, not how much time players put in and can be compared to the 1-50 system in Halo 2 or 3. For Glory, the max level caps at 5500, though Legend status can be achieved just before that number.

Obviously, hitting Legend isn't going to be an easy road. According to Bungie's calculations, it'll take players roughly 26 days of 6-hour play sessions and 100% win rate to hit legend as quickly as possible. Obviously, a win or loss streak changes those numbers significantly, but we don't know too much about streak gains/losses. With Warmind launching early next month, players don't have to wait long until they can start earning rank and taking part in all of the new content and features.

Destiny 2: Warmind releases May 8, 2018 for PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

Source: YouTube

kandyland twitch clip
Female Twitch Streamer Kills Broadcast With Microwave

More in Gaming News