Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy 'Future Tense' DLC Trailer

crash bandicoot future tense level

To celebrate the upcoming release of the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy on Nintendo Switch, PC, and Xbox One, and probably to join in on the E3 2018 hype too, Activision is announcing a brand new free DLC level. Future Tense is an all-new level made Vicarious Visions that will be included as part of Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped, within the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy. Future Tense will be available starting June 29.

According to Activision, the Future Tense DLC takes place in Crash Bandicoot 3's Future world, so players can expect to take on a variety of robots, rockets, and other familiar enemies. Of course, just staying on the platforms is challenge enough. High-skilled players will also discover a challenging "Death Route" through the level, as well as other general hidden areas.

In creating Future Tense, Vicarious Visions says that it was inspired by the Waterfall level in the original Crash Bandicoot. It's a clever way of updating a classic level for a newer game, if Crash Bandicoot 3 can be considered "newer." Vicarious Visions studio head Jennifer Oneal described the opportunity like this:

"Adding a new level to Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy was something we always wanted to do, and introducing Future Tense allows us to give all Crash players something new to play just in time for the multi-platform release."

Crash Bandicoot fans will likely appreciate every bit of new content they can get after so many years since the last new game was released.

Activision also made sure to note that the DLC level known as Stormy Ascent, a level that was removed from the original Crash Bandicoot, is planned for all platforms. Stormy Ascent will be available for PlayStation 4 players who already own the game for free starting tomorrow, June 12. All other platforms will be able to download Stormy Ascent at launch on June 29.

That new content is still being produced for Crash Bandicoot in 2018 is crazy, but just goes to show how successful the Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy has been. Fans who love to speculate may even take it as evidence of Activision and Vicarious Visions' intent to keep making new Crash Bandicoot content. Is a completely new game in our not-too-distant future?

The Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy is available now on PS4 and will launch on Nintendo Switch, PC, and Xbox One on June 29.

game rant e3 2018 banner
This is What the PS5 Cartridges Might Look Like

More in Gaming News