Activision has revealed the first Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 map pack, Awakening, which adds the Skyjacked, Rise, Splash and Gauntlet maps and comes first to PS4.

Activision wasn’t one to be left out of this weekend’s PlayStation Experience excitement. Considering they’ve partnered with Sony and the PlayStation 4 with regards to major DLC exclusives much like they did with Microsoft and the Xbox 360 last generation, they certainly will take advantage of every opportunity to advertise their upcoming products. Today was no exception, as the publisher took the opportunity to reveal the first major DLC map pack for Call of Duty: Black Ops 3– Awakening.

Awakening is not so different a DLC map pack than fans are used to. It will contain four different maps as well as the next chapter of the Zombies saga, “Der Eisendrachen.”  “More” has been teased, so it’s likely that the pack will also include a weapon skin or some other portion of multiplayer content.

Unfortunately there’s no official release date for the Awakening DLC pack for Call of Duty: Black Ops 3. What’s important is that PlayStation 4 will get the DLC exclusively at launch for a period of 30 days. PC, Xbox One, and other platforms will then get the DLC the month after. It’s an unfortunate situation for a lot of gamers, but hey, look at it this way, both Sony and Activision probably make a lot of money from it.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 3's Awakening DLC Maps

Let’s take a bit closer look at the four new maps which will be added in Call of Duty: Black Ops 3‘s Awakening DLC:

  • Skyjacked
  • Rise
  • Splash
  • Gauntlet

Skyjacked is rumored to be a remake of the Black Ops 2 map, Hijacked. Considering maps packs tend to feature at least one remade map, this one definitely seems to be it. Skyjacked will take the boat scene from Hijacked and lift it into the sky, creating a futuristic flying spaceship setting instead of the seven seas. Rise looks to be a larger-sized snowy construction zone map. Splash, excitingly, seems to take place in a water park with slides and pools galore. Finally, Gauntlet is a bit mysterious. It may be a map with multiple environments within it, it may have its biome randomly selected each time the map comes up, or perhaps its biome will change as the map is played.

For Call of Duty players, nothing about this news should be particularly surprising. Map packs, exclusivity, Season Passes, and zombies are all just the name of the game anymore. Still, when the maps in question look as cool as the four that Activision revealed today, it’s worth being excited for. Some Call of Duty  players live and die on DLC and there’s no shame in that.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 is available now on PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. The Awakening DLC has no current release date, but will likely arrive on PS4 in mid-late January.